Banhammer Forums
Sign in to follow this  
BraddersTheDog

What are you currently reading?

That's a long damn series. Did Jordan or any other writer complete that?

I can't imagine another writer digging through reams of Jordan's notes to figure out where this thing was going.

This is my first time reading it. Taking it one book at a time. Needed a break from sci fi noir so I decided on some classical straight up fantasy. Besides I am awaiting the next Game of Thrones and Harry Dresden novels.

House of Chains by Steven Erikson. The whole series is essentially a conflict between gods and mortals, and it's fucking awesome. The first book kinda just drops you in running, but once you get a feel for it all it's so worth it.

http://i.imgur.com/xvj7soh.jpg

(I initially simply image-posted it, but it's kinda big)

That's a long damn series. Did Jordan or any other writer complete that?

I can't imagine another writer digging through reams of Jordan's notes to figure out where this thing was going.

Was finished with book 14 "A Memory of Light" in January, and that's exactly what happened. Jordan was on record as saying that the last book (then 12) would be the last no matter if it was 2000 pages long and they had to invent a new binding method for it. Sanderson took over and wen't "lol nope", expanded it to 3 books, but he did a fantastic job.

House of Chains by Steven Erikson. The whole series is essentially a conflict between gods and mortals, and it's fucking awesome. The first book kinda just drops you in running, but once you get a feel for it all it's so worth it.

Are we talking Malazan Book of the Fallen? I've heard good things..House of Chains is Book 4 no?

Foundation by Isaac Asimov

So far there are an EXTREME number of Mass-Effect, Starwars and any space-odyssey game / movie references in it.

I honestly have to say this book is one of the best I have read in a very long time.

foundation-by-isaac-asimov-isbn-055.jpg